The ROM (sober)

Recently I went back to the ROM (Royal Ontario Museum). I’d been feeling the need to go back there for sometime in a sober state, as I’d only really seen the inside of it drunk! The ROM has a very striking extension which was apparently quite controversial when it was built. Its supposed to look like a crystal or an explosion.

Explosion or Crystal??

Explosion or Crystal??

The main interest for me was the First Nations exhibit, which is filled with a loads of interesting items and info on the early inhabitants of the Canadian part of North America before settlers from Europe arrived. I’ve always been a huge fan of their way of life back in those days, living off the land by hunting and gathering, and most interestingly for me, travelling by canoe. Travelling by canoe has always fascinated me, I’ve done an expedition through Algonquin by canoe and it was one of the best experiences of my life. The museum has several examples of beautiful, traditionally made, birch bark, canoes, that filled me with a sense of adventure. If you want to learn more about birch bark canoes I’d recommend watching this documentary with Ray Mears, you can see how they’re constructed and the sort of craftsmanship that goes into them.

Leave a Reply

