Day 4 – The Mountains, Vancouver, and arriving in Whistler

I awoke before dawn on my last of the train. The upside to us being very late was that there would be more time than usual to view the mountain in daylight, so I wanted to make as much of the opportunity as possible. I left my GoPro doing a time lapse and had breakfast with my camera close by in case we went past anything cool. That said, conditions on the day weren’t exactly stellar!!

The Misty Mountains..

The Misty Mountains..

Although the trip was very scenic, I was slightly stressed as the rumors of how late we were going to be arriving in to Vancouver were wildly varied. I’d heard numbers between 3 and 7 hours late. This had implications for my journey onward, as I had a bus booked to Whistler that left 3.5 hours, and if I missed the bus it could be expensive. Fortunately we arrived about 40 mins before the bus was due to leave, and after a nervous wait for my bag to be offloaded, I was able to walk across the station to my bus.

After a cramped 2 hour journey, Whistler came into view and I was shortly settling in to my new shared flat. One of my mates from uni, Ralph, is here so the obvious choice for my first night was to go out and get hammered!!

The next few days would be spent brushing up on my snowboarding skills and settling into my new digs.

Good day for some powder!

Good day for some powder!

Leave a Reply

