Month number 12!! May….

My first priority on arriving back into Toronto was finding somewhere to live. My friend Margo had kindly offered to put me up for a few days whilst I found a place, but I was keen to find somewhere as soon as possible. a) not to overstay my welcome, and b) get away from living out of my big red bag. My first day back at Edgewalk was also looming and I was aware that it would be more difficult to schedule viewings and things if the season got busy quickly. I’d lined up some viewings whilst I was at uncle Phil’s and while on the train, so in the couple of days I had free I tried to see as many houses as possible. This didn’t go very well. After two days of searching and visiting about 10 – 12 places I couldn’t really find anything to close to what I was after – a good balance of cleanliness and price. More time was spent on Kijiji and PadMapper and I came up trumps on my 4th day of searching landing a place right on Queen Street, just 15 mins walk from the tower! Its a pretty cool place, and I also have some access to the roof, which is a cool place to hang out.

Not a bad view.

Not a bad view.

I spent most of May settling into my new digs and getting back into the swing of things at Edgewalk, things got going fairly quickly and was able to pick up a good number of shifts thanks to a couple of ill guides and some media events. One such event saw me talking out the winner of a Kelloggs competition, check out the video below for some glam footage of me walking backwards, and shouting in the wind.

Being back at Edgewalk is great, there’s a few new faces and I feel like one of the more experienced members of the team, which is actually a new feeling.

At the end of May I also celebrated the end of my first year in Canada! Its been a rollercoaster, I’ve had some amazing adventures, and met some amazing people. Here’s a few photos from the highlights of my trip:

The prelude!

The prelude!

A day at the beach.

A day at the beach.

Guelph's Griffon

Guelph’s Griffon

Ray Feeding!

Ray Feeding!

Cheers, Toronto!!

Cheers, Toronto!!

Skydome at night!!

Skydome at night!!

Spectacular fog

Spectacular fog

Sunset Over Toronto

A few glorious sunsets…

My Edgewalk buddies..

My Edgewalk buddies..

Heading West......

Heading West……

Me and Tim on Blackcomb.

Me and Tim on Blackcomb.

Day's off with the lifties...

Days off with the lifties…

Into the backcountry....

Into the backcountry….

A few days in the Okanagan..

A few days in the Okanagan..

Heading back east....

Heading back east….

Back for another Summer!!!

Back for another Summer!!!

The end of my year in Canada also meant the end of my work permit of course. With a new one on the way there was an anxious wait in store while a decision was made. I was still able to work as I was legally now on “implied status”. This is quite literally the benefit of the doubt from the Canadian government. The was fine, but with my sister’s wedding approaching in September the clock was ticking…

Leave a Reply

