January – Muse, and the first snowboarding of the year….

Winter finally got underway proper in January, temperatures seemed to be permanently below zero, and whereas in the UK we get the occasion shower of drizzle, Toronto was getting the occasional shower of snow. The cold temperatures were causing the local water bodies to freeze over, and I was quite looking forward to the day when I might be able to walk out on the water in the harbor.

IMG_0226

Things were starting to freeze over….

I had visitor during the middle of month, Krista (one of my previous Edgewalkers) had come over to visit her Aunty and Uncle just outside to Toronto, and wanted to do a few things downtown too. By sheer luck, we found out that Muse were playing in the city at the exact time that she was here! They were touring for their new album; Drones, which actually had me slightly nervous. When you get tickets to see one of your favourite bands you develop that little wish list of songs that you really want to hear, and along with that comes the fear of disappointment when they don’t get played! Luckily I rationed down my list to 2 tracks and my prayers were answered 3 tracks in when they played my favourite song Hysteria, followed to my surprise by Citizen Erased!

IMG_1923

Pretty awesome view…

This was also my first seated gig, which was a bit odd, it was nice to have a seat, but I felt somewhat restless when they launched into the big head-bangers. One girl in front of us stood up when her favourite song came on, effectively blocking the view of everyone behind, so I felt I was kind of tied to my seat only really able to wave my arms and clap in appreciation. That said the gig was still pretty awesome, they played all of the big Drones tracks and a few of the bigger hitters off of their other albums, the only one that was missing for me was Stockholm Syndrome. Here’s a video of them doing Madness off of The 2nd Law:

Needless to say, the light show was amazing, with two large screens hanging down across the stage to project robot themed things on, the rotating central stage with a giant crosshair and huge inflatable “drones” flying around and shining lights at people. They finished in emphatic style with Knights of Cydonia which had us all up on our feet, even up on the balcony!

IMG_1929

No-one’s gunna take me alive!!!

We also went up to Blue Mountain, one of the ski resorts north of Toronto, near Wasaga Beach. I’d been preparing myself for this to be rubbish, having experienced the mighty Whistler, but actually I was pleasantly surprised! OK it obviously wasn’t as huge as Whistler, but I guess I’d lowered my expectations enough that it turned out to be a bit bigger than I’d expected. We were easily able to fill up a day’s riding, and had the snow been a bit deeper and better we could have easily entertained ourselves for two days. Not exactly the endless terrain of Whistler, but better than the small hill I’d been expecting.

IMG_1933

Longer runs than you might think!

It was great to get back on the snowboard again and get my legs back in shape, at the end of the month I’d be making the big trip of the season, to Mount Tremblant!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

