Wild Weather in February

I started February this year in Quebec. The night before Justin had valiantly piloted his dad’s car up the Mont Tremblant in driving rain, which sort of turned to snow as we arrived late that night. Tremblant is pretty much eastern Canada’s premier snow resort. The mountain is the highest rounded survivor of the of those left when the last ice age scoured the land in its retreat north over the Canadian shelf. Its only 875m high, but the snow is assured even in the warmest of winters! Conditions for us were somewhat hard, but we still got many decent runs on both days, and it was great to break out my faster powder board and really get some speed on down a few of the runs. We did manage to break into the glades on both days, and they turned out to be surprisingly not the worst I’d ever been through, despite my initial fears about them being mega icy! Here’s the highlights of the trip:

On the drive back we took a little diversion to pass the Canadian parliament building. Seeing as I’m here for 3 years I figured I should make an obligatory visit. The weather was pretty gross so we didn’t stop, but I snapped a picture from the car. I’ll probably come back again someday and have a proper look around.

IMG_0241

Can’t have a parliament without a snazzy clock tower…

Thanks to El Nino February wasn’t quite the snow and ice bonanza that I’d been hoping for. Over the month temperatures varied wildly from week to week. When me and Justin returned from Tremblant it was a balmy 16°, yet a week later temperatures had plunged to -23°! This was the coldest temperature I’d experienced so far on my trip (and in life), and it was pretty crazy walking to work in almost full snowboarding gear.  It was Valentine’s Day that weekend, and Family Day, but amazingly despite it being so cold people were still turning up to the tower in droves and the restaurant was sold out! Me and Nyssa went down to the harbor front to see if we could break through the ice in the harbor, and despite throwing several brick sized rocks at it couldn’t get through! It was the first time I’d seen the harbor completely frozen over, which was pretty impressive.

IMG_0248.JPG

A sea of ice…

Despite the ups in temperature I did manage to spend some more time on my snowboard, this time with the kid’s charity Chill Foundation. Chill gives kids from less affluent areas an opportunity to learn to snowboard after school up at Mount St Louis. Chill provides all the transport and kit they need, and instructors to teach them in their first steps. The foundation relies on volunteers to help the kids as they go around, so me and Margo went up to help them out for a couple weeks. It was a really rewarding couple of evenings for me, the kids had a really good time, and it was really satisfying to try a bit of coaching and see them make some progress over the night. The snow was also the best I’d been on all winter….

IMG_1970

Many smiling faces!

Leave a Reply

