Stairway to Heav……….Glass Floor Level

Up until now my relationship with the tower has been one of understanding, gaining knowledge, understanding how it works, I’d described Edgewalk as an organic part of the skyline, but in October it would briefly become my enemy. I would have to conquer it! I was doing the stair climb. This isn’t any casual stair case, its 113 building stories, 1776 steps. Normally I would make this journey in the elevator, 58 seconds of casually sipping my tea, or getting to know my group, but this time I would have to slog it for 15-20 minutes.

img_21861

It’s a long way up…..

I’m not exactly unfit, but I was aware of the challenge and a little nervous that it could catch me out, so I needed to do some training. Luckily Nyssa had moved to a tall apartment building which I could get 27 floors out of, so I was able to do a few training sessions before hand. I’d worked myself up to 81 floors a couple of times, and apparently you’re not supposed to train full distance in running, so I felt somewhat prepared.

Nevertheless in the morning I felt I slightly nervous. My aim was to see it off in bellow 20 minutes, but I was unsure of how effective my training had been, I was seeing off a head cold, and I hadn’t slept all that well the night before. I ate a few bananas and headed down to the tower for 6am, and eventually met up with some of the other tower staff including two fellow Edgewalkers – Romina and Angelyn. Once we had our timing chips we were whisked out from the gathering area and across to the base of the tower and quickly through the entrance into the tower. The start was a bit of an anti climax we were funnelled into a very normal looking stairwell of the tower, we slapped our timing chips on the start box and we were off.

I knew that I needed to pace myself on the climb, and this was both my weakness and my strength. The flights were numbered, but at the time I was thinking that they were the floors! Initially I started slow, keeping with Romina and Angelyn to get warmed up, but then as we got higher and I felt warmer I upped my pace a little bit. Getting to the 70 flight mark I perceived I was nearly there and pushed more, but then I realized that actually I was only halfway!! The last 20 flights were hellish, but I managed not to chuck up my lungs or blow my calves and sprinted the last flight to claim my time! Romina and Angelyn were close behind and together we headed down to get our times.

We conquered the tower!!!

A post shared by Dave Pellatt (@danger2007) on

I was really pleased to have finished, for entering the tower has donated $100 to the United Way, the charity hosting the event, and I had conquered probably the biggest physical challenge of the trip. After we’d taken some victory selfies, we headed over the road to a cafe for a well earned cup of tea.

img_8903

We did it!

Leave a Reply

